Go Back   DTMPower BMW Forum > Technical Discussions > E36 3-series

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-26-2008, 04:56 PM
Street License

Rides:1993 BMW 325I
Region: USA - South East
Stevens 325I is a New Registered Member
Cool Running Rich/ Weird Exhaust Noise

the noise sounds like a ticking noise when the engine is idleing...im new to these cars so it might be normal but i wanted to see what is up with it....i also seem to be running rich (no check engine light though) it smells really strong out of the exhaust...i changed the plugs with bosch platinum plus 4's and put new coil packs in and its still the same and i pulled them out today and they all look the exact same...none wet etc...

heres a video of the above mentioned noise
100_2736.flv - Video - Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting
Old 05-26-2008, 06:13 PM

Rides:BMW, 328, 1997 (two of them)
Region: USA - West
Manolito has achieved their Master LicenseManolito has achieved their Master LicenseManolito has achieved their Master LicenseManolito has achieved their Master LicenseManolito has achieved their Master LicenseManolito has achieved their Master LicenseManolito has achieved their Master LicenseManolito has achieved their Master LicenseManolito has achieved their Master LicenseManolito has achieved their Master LicenseManolito has achieved their Master License
I could not hear anything from the engine, but that exhaust is very odd and sounds scary. It sounds like you have an exhaust valve that is badly burnt or bent. You seem to be idling on 5 cylinders. One plug should look bad.

If the sound you hear under the hood is a mechanical ticking, the problem could be at the cam rather than at the exhaust valve.